• 75%
  • 100%
  • 125%
  • 155%


The Judicial Council of Latvia is a member of ENCJ - European Network of Councils for the Judiciary. The Association adopted decision on affiliation of Latvian Judicial Council to the Association as its member in General Assembly, which was held in Vilnius, on 8-10 June 2011.

What is ENCJ

ENCJ is non-profitable organisation, which unites the national institutions in the Member States of the European Union which are independent of the executive and legislature. The Association was founded in 2004, to promote cooperation, mutual exchange of experience and analysis of joint information of Councils for the Judiciary of the EU member states.  It has also been an opportunity to provide joint information and proposals to the EU institutions.

ENCJ statutes

ENCJ member states

Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Great Britain, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain, and Latvia, are member states of the ENCJ.

ENCJ homepage

Declarations and reports of the ENCJ

Paris Declaration on Resilient Justice, 7-9 June 2017

Warsaw Declaration on the Future of Justice in Europe, June 2016

Rome Declaration at ENCJ 10th anniversary celebration, June 2014

Sofia Declaration on Judicial Independence and Accountability, June 2013

Dublin Declaration setting Minimum Standards for the Selection and Appointment of Members of Judiciary, May 2012.

Vilnius Declaration on Challenges and Opportunities for the Judiciary in the Current Economic Climate – June 2011

Report on Judicial Ethics, 2009-2010